ILAE

EXECUTIVE COMMITTEES

Between 1909 and 1914, there was no formal 'Executive Committee' as is known today – this structure had its origins in the reforming of the ILAE in 1935. In the first years, there was a board (of fluctuating membership) and a chair and secretary, but no treasurer. The chair changed every year and comprised variously Donáth, Tamburini, Marie, Weeks, and the secretary–general post was held by Donáth and then Muskens. An important post was that of rédacteur–gérant (editor–in–chief) of *Epilepsia* and this was held by Donáth throughout this period.

The ILAE also had a comité de patronage which comprised Hebold, Friedländer, Bekhterev, Raymond, Landouzy, Sommer, Weygandt and Tamburini.

When the ILAE was reformed in 1935, no such committee was thought necessary, and the executive committee now was formed of four persons only. Since then, every 4 years, a new executive is voted in. The constitution of the Executive Committee has changed slightly over the years and in 2005 it was also decided to limit membership of the Executive Committee to a maximum of 16 years.

1935-1939

- William G. Lennox, USA, President
- Louis J.J. Muskens, Holland, Vice-President
- Hans Iacob Schou, Denmark, Secretary/Editor Epilepsia
- J. Tylor Fox, England, Treasurer

1939-1946

- William G. Lennox, USA, President
- Karl Heinz Stauder, Germany, Vice-President
- Hans Iacob Schou, Denmark, Secretary/Editor Epilepsia
- J. Tylor Fox, England, Treasurer

1946-1949

- William G. Lennox, USA, President/Editor Epilepsia
- Bernard Christian Ledeboer, Holland, Vice-President
- Hans Iacob Schou, Denmark, Secretary
- Denis Williams, England, Treasurer

1949-1953

- Macdonald Critchley, England, President
- Hans Peter Stubbe Teglbjaerg, Denmark, Vice-President
- Frederic A. Gibbs, USA, Vice-President
- Bernard Christian Ledeboer, Holland, Secretary-General
- Antoine Rémond, France, Recording Secretary
- Denis Williams, England, Treasurer
- William G. Lennox, USA, Editor *Epilepsia/*Hon. Pres.
- Jerome K. Merlis, USA, Assistant Editor

1953-1957

- A. Earl Walker, USA, President
- Henri Gastaut, France, President-Elect
- Denis Williams, England, Vice-President
- Paulo Niemeyer, Brazil, Vice–President
- Bernard Christian Ledeboer, Holland, Secretary-General
- Hans Peter Stubbe Teglbjaerg, Denmark, Treasurer
- Jerome K. Merlis, USA, Editor Epilepsia

1957-196

- A. Earl Walker, USA, President
- Henri Gastaut, France, Secretary-General
- Jerome K. Merlis, USA, Treasurer
- Sir Francis Walshe, UK, Editor-in-Chief Epilepsia

1961-1965

- Francis L. McNaughton, Canada, President
- Bartolomé Fuster, Uruguay, Vice–President
- Albert M. Lorentz de Haas, Netherlands,
- Vice-President/Editor Epilepsia
- Henri Gastaut, Marseilles, France, Secretary-General/Editor *Epilepsia*
- Jerome K. Merlis, USA, Treasurer

1965-1969

- Albert M. Lorentz de Haas, Netherlands (died 1967),
- President/Editor Epilepsia
- Jerome K. Merlis, USA, President
- Heinrich Landolt, Switzerland, Vice-President
- $\ Francis \ L. \ McNaughton, Canada, Past-President$
- Henri Gastaut, France, Secretary-General/Editor Epilepsia
- David D. Daly, USA, Treasurer

1969-1973

- Henri Gastaut, France, President
- Jerome K. Merlis, USA, Past-President
- Karl-Axel Melin, Sweden, Vice-President
- Luis Oller–Daurella, Spain, Vice–President
- Otto Magnus, Netherlands, Secretary-General
- David D. Daly, Arizona, USA, Treasurer
- Margaret Lennox-Buchthal. Denmark, Editor-in-Chief *Epilepsia*

