# INTERNATIONAL LEAGUE AGAINST EPILEPSY

342 North Main Street, West Hartford, CT 06117-2507, USA

Tel: +1 860 586 7547 Fax: +1 860 586 7550 E-mail: info@ilae.org Web site: www.ilae.org

To: Asian and Oceanian Chapters of the ILAE Re: Asian and Oceanian regional elections

Monday, 06 March 2017

Dear Chapter Executives,

We are beginning the elections of officers of the Commission on Asian and Oceanian Affairs (CAOA) 2017-2021 which will have two phases: first the Chapters will elect the Chair and then the members of the CAOA.

### **ELECTION OF CHAIR**

To be eligible for election to Chair, an individual needs to have served on the regional commission as a voting (elected or appointed) or non-voting member for at least one term (4 years), but no more than two voting terms (8 years). Past Regional Chairs (appointed or elected) are not eligible for election to a second term. The Election Committee contacted all the eligible candidates to ask them if they are willing to run. The following people have agreed:

Leonor Cabral Lim (Philippines)
Dede Gunawan (Indonesia)
Akio Ikeda (Japan)
Satish Jain (India)
Shichuo Li (China)

You may view their election documents on the website here <a href="http://www.ilae.org/Commission/CAOA/elections.cfm">http://www.ilae.org/Commission/CAOA/elections.cfm</a>

Attached is your ballot which must be submitted by 3<sup>rd</sup> April 2017 to the office of the ILAE's attorney <u>ilae@wc-b.com</u>. To be eligible to vote each Chapter must be up to date with its dues. Each chapter must vote for 1 candidate for the ballots to be valid. Please note that ballots not sent directly to the attorney will be invalid. To be elected, the top candidate must receive at least 51% of the votes. Please note that the current Chair remains as a member of the Commission as Past-Chair.

### **ELECTION OF 4 MEMBERS**

After election of the Chair, the 4 remaining members are elected (May 2017). This phase will also include a nomination phase and an election phase.

<u>Nomination phase:</u> Chapters will be asked to propose people as candidates but, in order for the candidate to be included in the ballot, the candidate must have the support of their primary Chapter unless there is no Chapter. Nominations will be submitted to the League's attorney, <u>ilae@wc-b.com</u>.

Election phase: The nominees will submit a short bio-sketch with a photo to be placed on the website. Each chapter can vote for up to 4 nominees but not necessarily for all 4 for the ballot to be valid. Please note that ballots not sent directly to the attorney will be invalid. The 4 candidates with the highest number of votes will be elected. In a case of a tie, in accordance with the League's Bylaws, the older candidate will be elected. The exact dates are not yet determined but we anticipate that the elections will be finalized by June 2017.



Established 190

### **EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE**

#### President

Emilio Perucca, Pavia, Italy

### Secretary-General

Helen Cross, London, UK

#### Treasurer

Samuel Wiebe, Calgary, AB, Canada

#### **Past President**

Solomon Moshé, NY, USA

### Vice President

Tatsuya Tanaka, Asahikawa, Japan

### Commission on African Affairs

Amadou Gallo Diop, Dakar, Senegal

### Commission on Asian and Oceanian Affairs

Byung-In Lee, Seoul, South Korea

#### Commission on Eastern Mediterranean Affairs

Hassan Hosny, Cairo, Egypt

### Commission on European Affairs

Meir Bialer, Jerusalem, Israel

### Commission on Latin American Affairs

Marco Medina, Tegucigalpa, Honduras

### Commission on North American Affairs

Sheryl Haut, NY, USA

# **Editor in Chief, Epilepsia**Gary Mathern, Los Angeles, USA

### Editor in Chief, Epilepsia Astrid Nehlig, Strasbourg,

Astrid Nenlig, Strasbourg, France

### **IBE, President (Ex-Officio)** Athanasios Covanis, Athens, Greece

### IBE, Secretary-General (Ex-Officio)

Sari Tervonen, Helsinki, Finland

## **IBE, Treasurer (Ex-Officio)**Robert Cole, Adelaide, SA, Australia

Dr Sam Wiebe, the League's President-Elect, with the consent of the League's Executive Committee will appoint 2 additional members. The total number of regular Commission members is 8 (Chair, past Chair, four elected members, two appointed members).

Please let us know if you have any questions.

With best regards

Solomon (Nico) Moshé Committee Chair

Paul Kioy

1 11. Aphi

Giuliano Avanzini

Chong Tin Tan

Pete Engel Natalio Fejerman

Peter Wolf

Girlious Avour Pt tred eng