Elections Commission

Members

Emilio Perucca (Italy), chair Nico Moshé (USA) Birinus Adikaibe (Nigeria) Jackie French (USA) Hassan Hosny (Egypt) Makiko Osawa (Japan) Peter Wolf (Denmark) Elza Marcia Yacubian (Brazil)



Emilio Perucca

Report

Three stages of the elections were completed in 2020.

The election for President started on 17 February 2020, and was completed on 10 April 2020 with the election of Dr. J. Helen Cross (U.K.) to the ILAE Presidency for the 2021-2025 term.

Soon thereafter, the Committee proceeded to organize the election of the Management Committee, which was completed on 18 September 2020. Elected members were Drs. Edward H. Bertram (U.S.A.), Roberto H. Caraballo (Argentina) ad Alla Guekht (Russia). As per Bylaws, the three available positions were assigned by the President-elect. Accordingly, Dr. Bertram was appointed Secretary General-elect, Dr. Caraballo Vice-President-elect, and Dr. Alla Guekht Treasurer-elect.

The next phase, which was completed on 11 December 2020, was the election of Regional Chairs. The elected Chairs were Drs. Ghaieb Aljandeel (Iraq) for ILAE-Eastern Mediterranean, John Dunne (Australia) for ILAE-Asia-Oceania, Jaideep Kapur U.S.A.) for ILAE-North America, Mario Arturo Alonso Vanegas (Mexico) for ILAE-Latin America, Matthew Walker (U.K.) for ILAE-Europe, and Jo Wilmshurst (South Africa) for ILAE Africa.

The election of Regional Committee members will start in January 2021.

According to the rules stated in the Bylaws, the number of votes received by each candidate at each election stage will be disclosed publicly at the completion of all election stages, including any run-off election.

The Committee congratulates all elected officers and wishes to thank all candidates for their commitment and willingness to serve the organization.

The Committee also wishes to thank Mr. Gus Egan for his very efficient assistance during the election process.

Respectfully submitted on behalf of the Election Committee

Emilio Perucca Election Commission Chair Pavia, 26 December 2020