# COMMISSION ON DIAGNOSTIC **METHODS**



Fernando Cendes

### **Commission Members**

Chair Past Chair

Secretary Translational Research

Educational Officer

Information Officer Treasurer

Member

Fernando Cendes (Brazil) William Davis Gaillard

(USA)

Matthias Koepp (UK) Ingmar Blümcke (Germany)

Prasanna Jayakar (USA) Bruce Hermann (USA) Friedrich G Woermann

(Germany) Catherine Chiron

(France)

## **Task Forces**

1. Neurophysiology:

Chair Prasanna Jayakar (USA) Past Chair Demetrios Velis (Holland) Herman Stefan (Germany) Secretary Members Francois Dubeau (Canada)

Eli Mizrahi (USA)

Aristea Galanopoulou (USA)

Akio Ikeda (Japan)

Roberto Caraballo (Argentina)

Paolo Tinuper (Italy)

2. Neuroimaging:

Matthias Koepp (UK) Chair Past Chair

William Davis Gaillard (USA) Friedrich G Woermann (Germany) Catherine Chiron (France) Secretary Members

William Theodore (USA) Donald W Gross (Canada) Seung Bong Hong (Korea) Dennis Spencer (USA) Masako Watanabe (Japan)

3. Neuropathology:

Ingmar Blümcke (Germany) Chair Roberto Spreafico (Italy) Secretary Members Eleonora Aronica (Holland)

Hajime Miyata (Japan) Andre Palmini (Brazil) Maria Thom (UK) Harry Vinters (USA) Guenther Sperk (Austria)

4. Neuropsychology:

Bruce Hermann (USA) Chair Secretary Michael Saling (Australia)

Maryse Lassonde (Canada) Isabelle Jambaqué (France)

Christoph Helmstaedter (Germany)

Urvashi Shah (India) Ronit Pressler (UK) David Loring (USA)

5. Focal Cortical Dysplasias:

Inamar Blümcke (Germany)

Eleonora Aronica (Holland) Guiliano Avanzini (Italy) Scott Baraban (USÀ) Jim Barkovich (USA) Albert Becker (Germany) Carlos Cepeda (USA) Peter Crino (USA) Helen Cross (UK) Nadia Colombo (Italy) Olivier Delalande (France) Francois Dubeau (Canada)

John Duncan (UK) Renzo Guerrini (Italy) Ajay Gupta (USÀ) William Harkness (UK) Philippe Kahane (France) Giorgio LoRusso (Italy) Joseph Loturco (ÚSA) Gary Mathern (ÙSA) Imad Najm (USA) Cigdem Ozkara (Turkey) Andre Palmini (Brazil) Charles Raybaud (Canada) Alfonso Represa (France) Steven Roper (USA) Noriko Salamon (ÚSA)

Andreas Schulze-Bonhage (Germany)

Roberto Spreafico (Italy) Laura Tassi (Italy)

Maria Thom (UK) Annamaria Vezzani (Italy) Harry Vinters (USA)

#### **Aims**

The major challenge is the proper evaluation and use of technology and other diagnostic methods to improve care of patients with epilepsy when there is such a broad range of available technology and expertise across the globe. At one extreme is the optimal best practices in developed societies, the other is optimal use of limited resources in underdeveloped economies. These issues touch upon education as well as assessments and utilization of diagnostic methods, and emerging diagnostic methods and disciplines.

**Neuropathology Task Force** The focus of the Neuropathology Task Force was on a new proposal for the classification of focal cortical dysplasias (FCDs) and Hippocampal Sclerosis (HS). The task force on FCD published "The clinicopathologic spectrum of focal cortical dysplasias: a consensus classification proposed by an ad hoc Task Force of the ILAE Diagnostic Methods Commission" (Blümcke et al, Epilepsia 2011;52:158-74); and the task force on HS just finished a Consensus Classification of HS that was published recently in "International consensus classification of hippocampal sclerosis in temporal lobe

# COMMISSION ON DIAGNOSTIC METHODS (continued)

epilepsy": A Task Force report from the ILAE Commission on Diagnostic Methods. Blümcke et al. *Epilepsia* 2013 doi: 10.1111/epi.12220.

**Neurophysiology Task Force** 

The Neurophysiology Task Force met regularly at regional and international congresses to strategize and follow up various initiatives. One of the primary goals was to integrate efforts with other task forces and commissions to achieve a broader impact. Several of the initiatives have made significant progress and have plans to continue strategic efforts in the next four years. A document with recommendations developed jointly with the Pediatric Epilepsy Surgery Task Force of the ILAE ("Diagnostic Test Utilization in Evaluation for Resective Epilepsy Surgery in Children") is being submitted to the ILAE executive committee for review and a symposium on this topic has been organized at the ILAE meeting in Montreal 2013.

**Neuroimaging Task Force** 

The three main goals of the Neuroimaging Task Force were to (1) formulate "evidence-based" guidelines on "role of imaging in Pediatric Surgery," (2) evaluate the "role of advanced imaging methods in Epilepsy Surgery" and (3) promote global education/training in neuroimaging for neurologists and radiologists. Guidelines for imaging infants and children with recent-onset epilepsy were published in *Epilepsia* in 2009 (50:2147-53), and a commentary on diagnostic testing study guidelines and practice parameters in Epilepsia (2011 52:1750-6). During meetings in Boston (AES 2009) and Rome (ILAE 2011), they prepared for a three-day workshop in London, 27-29 September 2012, which comprehensively assessed the clinical role and use of EEG-fMRI, cognitive fMRI for language and memory, as well as the added value of PET and SPECT, and post-processing of MRI. This workshop forms the basis of a "position paper" of expert opinions on the clinical use of these advanced

imaging methods, soon to be submitted to the executive committee of the ILAE for publication in *Epilepsia*. A long-distance neuroimaging teaching program was formally accepted by the ILAE. Members of the imaging task force participated in the annual Neuroimaging web courses offered by VIREPA, which included students from different parts of the world. Some of the students were supported by scholarships offered by ILAE.

**Neuropsychology Task Force** 

The Neuropsychology Task Force organized a special international workshop entitled Neuropsychology in the Care of People with Epilepsy. The meeting was held in Toronto, Canada, 3-6 November 2010 and was organized under the auspices of the journal Epileptic Disorders. Members from our Neuropsychology Task Force were represented on the organizing and planning committees, served as speakers and discussants, and additionally served as co-editors of the text that emanated from the meeting. The session was attended by 52 specialists from 13 countries representing expertise in adult and pediatric neuropsychology, psychiatry, neurology, neuroimaging, cognitive neurosciences, electrophysiology, and pharmacology.

## New Commission Members (2013-2017)

Ingmar Blümcke, Chair (Germany) Fernando Cendes (Brazil) Andrea Bernasconi (Canada) Philippe Kahane (France) Callixte Kuate Tegueu (Cameroon) Riki Matsumoto (Japan) Donald Schomer (USA) Sarah Wilson (Australia) Sam Wiebe, EC Liaison (Canada)