COMMISSION ON ASIAN AND **OCEANIAN AFFAIRS**



Byung-In Lee

List of Members and Officers (Table 1 and 2) Table 1. Officers of CAOA (2009-2013)

Chair Secretary Treasurer Information Officer Members

Byung-In Lee (Korea) John W Dunne (Australia) Jing-Jane Tsai (Taiwan) Sunao Kaneko (Japan) Hasan Aziz (Pakistan) Shi Chuo Li (China) Chong Tin Tan (Malaysia) Shih-Hui Lim (Singapore)

Ex-Officio Tatsuya Tanaka (Japan, ILAE - first vice president)

Vrushali Nadkarni (India)

Task Forces

Task Force

1. Research Task Force

2. Global Campaign

Patrick Kwan (Hong Kong)

Ernest Somerville (Australia)

The Asian Epilepsy Academy (ASEPA) was formed in 2003, initially as the educational arm and now a subcommission of CAOA. The composition of ASEPA is shown in Table 2.

Table 2. Officers of ASEPA

(2007-2011)

Chong Tin Tan (Malaysia) Chair Secretary Andrew Bleasel (Australia) Gourie Devi (India) Members Yushi Inoue (Japan) Weiping Liao (China)

Shih-Hui Lim

Ex-Officio Byung-In Lee (Chair, CAOA)

(2011-2015)

Chair Shih-Hui Lim (Singapore) Secretary Wendyl Souza(Australia)

Man Mohan Mehndiratta (India)

Yushi Inoue (Japan) Weiping Liao (China)

Dede Gunawan (Indonesia)

Josephine Gutierrez (Philippines) Ex-Officio Byung-In Lee (Korea, Chair of CAOA)

Chong Tin Tan (Malaysia, Immediate

past president, ASEPA)

Action Plans of CAOA: 2009-2013

- Construct CAOA website linked with ILAE website and individual CAOA-Chapter websites and publish CAOA-Newsletter (by Information committee): Achieved as planned
 - CAOA website (http://www.caoa-epilepsy.org)

- (2) Published the first CAOA-Newsletter in December 2012
- Enhance educational and training efforts and 2. activities (by ASEPA): Achieved as planned
 - Teaching courses and workshops in regions in need (provides 10 to 12 courses per
 - (2) Epilepsy Fellowship for future epilepsy Specialists in the region (provides 2 ÁSEPA Fellowships/year and another 2-4 Fellowships/year in collaboration with Epilepsy Research Foundation of Japan, Japan Épilepsy Societies, and Epilepsy Society of Australia)
 - (3) Promote skills in EEG recording and interpretation (ASEPA EEG-Certification examinations and EEG teaching courses in collaboration with ANZAN)
 - (4) Publish proceedings of AOEC in Neurology-Asia
- Organize the Asian and Oceanian Epilepsy 3. Congresses every two years: Achieved as planned
 - (1) 8th AOEC in Melbourn in October 2010
 - (2) 9th AOEC in Philippines in March 2012
- 4. Stimulate Clinical and Translational Reseach (by Research TF): Achieved as planned
 - Stand-alone meeting of Research TF in Taipei in July 2011
 - Preparation of the CAOA-Research Priority document
- 5. Promote New Chapter Formation; Achieved as planned
 - (1) Vietnam in 2009
 - (2) Sri Lanka in 2011
- Facilitate Global Campaign Against Epilepsy Activities (by GCAE TF): Achieved as planned
 - (1) GCAE workshops at the 8th and the 9th
 - (2) Stakeholders meeting at the 9th AOEC
 - Planning a CAOA-demonstration project for the reduction of treatment gap in Asia
- 7. Facilitate interactions among chapters and commissions: Achieved as planned
 - Joint symposium with Asian Epilepsy Surgery Congress in Hong Kong, 10 November 2011
 - Joint symposium with Infantile Spasm Society in Tokyo, Japan, February 2012

COMMISSION ON ASIAN AND OCEANIAN AFFAIRS (continued)

- (3) Active participation of ASEPA and CAOA with Congresses, summer schools, or Epilepsy Symposia held by individual chapter
- (4) Planning a joint symposium with AOCN in Hong Kong, 2014
- Initiate the Asian and Oceanian Outstanding Achievement Epilepsy Award (AOEA): Achieved as planned
 - (1) First AOEA at the 8th AOEC at Melbourne (2010), 5 award reciepients: H Aziz (Pakistan), T Tanaka (Japan), K Yagi (Japan), P Satishchandra (India), X Wu (China)
 - (2) 2nd AOEA at the 9th AOEC at Manila, Philippines (2012), 6 Award reciepients: L Cabral-Lim (Philippines), Y Inoue (Japan), S Kaneko (Japan), K Radhakrishnan (India), L Wu (China)

New Commission Members (2013-2017)

Byung-In Lee, Chair (Korea) Andrew Bleasel (Australia) Leonor Cabral-Lim (Phippines) Sunao Kaneko (Japan) Kheng Seang Lim (Malaysia) Guoming Luan (China) Man Mohan Mehndiratta (India) Tatsuya Tanaka, EC Liaison (Japan)