## INTERNATIONAL LEAGUE AGAINST EPILEPSY

342 North Main Street, West Hartford, CT 06117-2507, USA Tel: +1 860 586 7547 Fax: +1 860 586 7550 E-mail: info@ilae.org Web site: www.ilae.org

To: European Chapters of the ILAE Re: European Regional Elections

Monday, 06 March 2017

Dear Chapter Executives,

We are beginning the elections of officers of the Commission on European Affairs (CEA) 2017-2021 which will have two phases: first the Chapters will elect the Chair and then the members of the CEA.

## ELECTION OF CHAIR

To be eligible for election to Chair, an individual needs to have served on the regional commission as a voting (elected or appointed) or non-voting member for at least one term (4 years), but no more than two voting terms (8 years). Past Regional Chairs (appointed or elected) are not eligible for election to a second term. The Election Committee contacted all 22 eligible candidates to ask them if they are willing to run. **Eugen Trinka** of Austria was the only candidate willing to go forward. **Despite this, he must still receive 51% of all European votes to 'win' the election**.

You may view his election documents on the website here <u>http://www.ilae.org/Commission/CEA/elections.cfm</u>

Attached is your ballot which must be submitted by 3<sup>rd</sup> April 2017 to the office of the ILAE's attorney <u>ilae@wc-b.com</u>. To be eligible to vote each Chapter must be up to date with its dues. **Ballots not sent directly to the attorney will be invalid**. Please note that the current Chair remains as a member of the Commission as Past-Chair.

## **ELECTION OF 5 MEMBERS**

After election of the Chair, the 5 remaining members are elected (May 2017). This phase will also include a nomination phase and an election phase.

<u>Nomination phase:</u> Chapters will be asked to propose people as candidates but, in order for the candidate to be included in the ballot, the candidate must have the support of their primary Chapter unless there is no Chapter. Nominations will be submitted to the League's attorney, <u>ilae@wc-b.com</u>.

<u>Election phase</u>: The nominees will submit a short bio-sketch with a photo to be placed on the website. **Each chapter must vote for 5 nominees**, with less than 5 rendering the **ballot invalid**. **Ballots not sent directly to the attorney will also be invalid**. The 5 candidates with the highest number of votes will be elected. In a case of a tie, in accordance with the League's Bylaws, the older candidate will be elected. The exact dates are not yet determined but we anticipate that the elections will be finalized by June 2017. INTERNATIONAL LEAGUE AGAINST EPILEPSY Established 1909

## **EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE**

President Emilio Perucca, Pavia, Italy

Secretary-General Helen Cross, London, UK

**Treasurer** Samuel Wiebe, Calgary, AB, Canada

Past President Solomon Moshé, NY, USA

**Vice President** Tatsuya Tanaka, Asahikawa, Japan

Commission on African Affairs Amadou Gallo Diop, Dakar, Senegal

Commission on Asian and Oceanian Affairs Byung-In Lee, Seoul, South Korea

**Commission on Eastern Mediterranean Affairs** Hassan Hosny, Cairo, Egypt

Commission on European Affairs Meir Bialer, Jerusalem, Israel

Commission on Latin American Affairs Marco Medina, Tegucigalpa, Honduras

**Commission on North American Affairs** Sheryl Haut, NY, USA

Editor in Chief, Epilepsia Gary Mathern, Los Angeles, USA

**Editor in Chief, Epilepsia** Astrid Nehlig, Strasbourg, France

**IBE, President (Ex-Officio)** Athanasios Covanis, Athens, Greece

IBE, Secretary-General (Ex-Officio) Sari Tervonen, Helsinki, Finland

**IBE, Treasurer (Ex-Officio)** Robert Cole, Adelaide, SA, Australia Dr Sam Wiebe, the League's President-Elect, with the consent of the League's Executive Committee will appoint 2 additional members. The total number of regular Commission members is 9 (Chair, past Chair, 5 elected members, 2 appointed members).

Please let us know if you have any questions.

With best regards

Alveli

Girlious Avante Rt. Engel Conter

7

Solomon (Nico) Moshé Committee Chair

Giuliano Avanzini

Pete Engel

Natalio Fejerman

Paul Kioy

Chong Tin Tan

Peter Loff

Peter Wolf