Michael Prize 1999

Marco de Curtis

IBE/ILAE Awards: 1999 Michael Prize Winners

This prize was created to stimulate epilepsy research among young scientists (under 40 years of age) in Germany. It is now an international award for the best scientific and clinical research promoting the further development in epileptology. The prize is awarded biannually and consists of DM 20.000 and is presented during the International Epilepsy Congress following the election.

Marco de Curtis, Italy: The centre of his scientific interest is the cellular mechanisms underlying interictal spikes including the role played by gap junctions and their modulations by activity dependent pH-changes, propagation of epileptiform activity, induction of secondary epileptogenesis, and, last but not least, interactions of neuronal activity and cerebro-vascular activity.