Commission on Neurobiology

2017 Harinarayan Young Scientist Awards

The Harinarayan Young Neuroscientist Award of ILAE Neurobiology Commission is designed to reward young basic science investigators (within 10 years of completing PhD or MD training) that submit an abstract to the ILAE Congress.

The Award is generously supported by a donation of the Harinarayan Family. Candidates are selected by the members of the Neurobiology Commission. The Prize (2,000 $) will be acknowledged during the Welcome Ceremony of ILAE Congress and will be awarded during the Neurobiology Symposium.

Commission Membership

  • Chair: Aristea Galanopoulou (USA)
  • Members: Marco de Curtis (Italy, ex-chair), Terence O’Brien (Australia), Kathryn Davis (USA, Marcio Moraes (Brazil)
  • Liaison to MC: Ed Bertram (USA)

The Neurobiology Commission (NBC) chaired by Aristea Galanopoulou (USA) works towards promoting neurobiology research in epilepsy through advocacy, education, training, proposals of optimal methodologies and infrastructure improvements. The NBC organizes activities aiming in informing in progress and best practices in neurobiology of epilepsy research, including symposia, workshops and reports. The NBC also coordinates activities aiming to engage young investigators in epilepsy research and improve the opportunities for career advancement of neurobiologists across the epilepsy research spectrum. The NBC oversees and coordinate the activities of its task forces.

Funding for scientific meetings or workshops relevant to neurobiology of epilepsy can also be provided through the NBC. Requests for sponsoring such workshops are considered for funding on an annual basis by the NBC. Applicants can complete the NBC Funding Request Form 2018 and email it to by July 15 of the year preceding the planned meeting. Decisions on support will be announced by the end of March of the year of the event. 

The planned initiatives will be developed and achieved through the work of Task Forces. Whenever possible, initiatives will be developed in collaboration with other ILAE Topical Commissions and fostering the involvement of National Chapters.

Chapter 5: Organisation of basic science in epilepsy with special reference to the ILAE.
Jerome Engel, Jr., Solomon Moshé and Giuliano Avanzini, International League Against Epilepsy: 1909 - 2009: A Centenary History