34th International Epilepsy Congress

Virtual Congress

28 August - 1 September 2021



The IBE Day is taking place on Wednesday 1 September as part of the IEC. It consists of 3 two-hour virtual sessions on topical issues that affect the day-to-day lives of people living with epilepsy.

This virtual event will cover topics including making epilepsy a national health priority – intersectoral collaboration, empowering youth to raise their voices and best practices to address the psychosocial impact of epilepsy.

Additionally, the IBE International Golden Light Awards will be presented; the IBE Golden Light Awards recognise the contributions of people affected by epilepsy in their community and those who care for them.

We hope that the virtual experience allows more people around the globe to participate in the IBE Day. Access to these sessions is free of charge for IBE chapters and their members, but registration is necessary.

The programme for the IBE Day may be downloaded here.


For any general queries on the IBE Day, please contact the Congress Secretariat at iec@epilepsycongress.org.

The IBE Golden Light Awards are an opportunity to recognise and reward young people affected by epilepsy – either because they have epilepsy or have made a significant positive impact on the lives of others who have the condition. The aim is to show that people with epilepsy do not have to be defined by their epilepsy but who embrace the call of the International Bureau for Epilepsy to ‘bring epilepsy out of the shadows and into the light’.

These worthy award recipients, nominated by their chapters, will be presented with their awards during the IBE Day on Wednesday 1 September. By attending the IBE Day, you will have the opportunity to hear several of them recount their remarkable stories and see them receive their award.

The IBE Day takes place on Wednesday 1 September and you can find out more about the programme and how to register here.


Praise Bessong
Fred Beuchi
Bright Bwalya
Meng-Leo Chou
Mohan Dike
Mohsen Fariborzi
Luisa Gatto
Lynna Held
Camila Herzberg Cuetu
Vinay Jani
Valentina Kahn
Oliver Kilmartin
Alison Kukla
Emily (Ka Yan) Kwong
(Hong Kong)
Cassidy Megan
Sophie Nabukenya
Lai Siew Tim
Veselka Šoštarić


Adi Vaknin-Aviram